1 more day

I leave for Eastern Canada tomorrow and I have a lot of things to do yet before leaving my parents’ house this afternoon (I’ll be going to spend the night at my friend Monica’s house because I’ve hardly seen her during my short visit at home.

On Monday I will start a six-week internship placement with Chalice Canada and I’ve been getting to know the other interns via Skype and doing administrative type things via email with the NGO and the Atlantic Council for International Cooperation (ACIC, which will receive funding from the Canadian International Development Agency (CIDA).

I have been pretty busy catching up with old friends, which has been unbelievably wonderful. I started visiting with friends before I graduated, but after my last exams were over, in Ottawa. I loved both Montréal and Ottawa. I met up with friends in Ottawa who I hadn’t seen in years, so I didn’t do much official ‘sight seeing’, but did see the Parliament, lots of parks, both Carleton University and uOttawa, many kilometres of the bike trails along the Rideau Canal (which I thoroughly enjoyed racing along with a good friend from university, Andrew. I even had a personal tour of uOttawa with a friend who is now doing a PhD in the linguistics of Spanish!

The weather was hot and sunny so I was outside for most of the time in both cities and saw lots of places I’d like to go back to. I had a great visit in Hudson and then an adventure out downtown Montréal with an enthusiastic environmentalist who I am proud to call my friend, Rachel. Of course, I had a blast with Claire in Montréal, just exploring different neighbourhoods, mostly that in which her new apartment is located, a hip mixed-use neighbourhood with lots of nooks and crannies to take in.

It is hard to describe just how heart warming it is to see old friends again: ones from middle and high school, ones from orchestras that I used to play in, even ones from university, but who graduated before I did. We have a lot of catch up on.

It is great to see old teachers again too and visit my old school to see what everyone is up to now, see the new art work that adorns the halls (and pieces that were made by my classmates years ago) and witness the progress being made in terms of new courses, clubs and activities and student initiatives. While certain things have changed, it seems that others will probably always be the same, or similar. I don’t know many of the students, now, but many of little kids that I once knew are now in middle school and others will soon graduate. It is amusing to see how little some faces change over time. I ran into some kids I used to baby sit and they were about as surprised to see me as I was them.

Of course, then there are neighbours. Most of my neighbours have several animals: dogs, cats, sheep, cattle, horses, ponies and I try to visit with a least some of the animals while home, although several of the dogs are no longer with us. We live in farmland and there are brown bunnies with white tails running around the practically fluorescent green yard. I would, however, settle for less green foliage if it would only stop raining (I shouldn’t exaggerate: it has been partially sunny/cloudy today)! It just won’t stop and the drizzling only seems to stop at times in the late evening or at night-how useful for those of us who want to get outside and walk or ride bikes. If only my parents didn’t live in the Pacific temperate rain forest…sigh…

Nonetheless, this is a place I will always come back to as I have many great friends here, not to mention connections with many talented and inspiring people artists and musicians. There’s nothing quite like coming back here.

Thought this song and music video were amusing. The song is called “I’d Rather Dance With You” and it is by the Kings of Convenience, an indie folk-pop duo from Bergen, Norway. My friend José just recommended them…

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OczRpuGKTfY

And here is a link to one of their albums called ‘Declaration of Dependence’:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-fRo6kvfYWQ

What do you think?

