One more day

I leave for Eastern Canada tomorrow and I have a lot of things to do yet before leaving my parents’ house this afternoon. On Monday I start a six-week internship placement with Chalice Canada and I’ve already started getting to know the other interns via Skype.

I have been pretty busy catching up with old friends, which has been simply wonderful. I started visiting with friends when I went to Montreal and Ottawa, cities that I hope to visit again. I even had a personal tour of uOttawa with a friend who is now doing a PhD in Spanish linguistics!

The weather was hot and sunny so I was outside for most of the time in both cities. I had a great visit in Hudson and then an adventure of downtown Montréal with an my friend, Rachel, who is farming there. I had a blast with Claire, exploring the nooks and crannies of Montréal neighbourhoods.

It is hard to describe just how heart warming it is to see old friends and teachers. I visited my old school  to see what everyone is up to now, the new (and old) art work that adorns the halls, and the progress of new courses, clubs and activities, and student initiatives. I ran into some kids I used to babysit and they were about as surprised to see me as I was them!

Of course, then there are neighbours, and most of mine have some combination of dogs, cats, sheep, cattle, horses and ponies. We live in farmland and there are brown bunnies running around the (practically fluorescent) green yard.

This is a place I will always come back to as I have many great friends here, not to mention connections with talented and inspiring people artists and musicians.

Thought this song and music video were amusing. The song is called “I’d Rather Dance With You” and it is by the Kings of Convenience, an indie folk-pop duo from Bergen, Norway.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OczRpuGKTfY

What do you think?

