Music as stress relief: meet Lydia Mainville

It has been far too long since I have shared anything.
I hope you are doing well and enjoying a relaxing day.

Life has been a whirlwind since I returned from Peru just over a year ago:
I enjoyed working with and teaching Mexicans and Colombians close to home last spring, while doing four tedious online courses, pre-requisite courses for a Bachelor of Education program.
I jumped into my BEd on August 31st, the day after arriving in this city, directly from Peru.
That short trip to South America was brimming with joy, laughter, smiles and surprises and certainly helped energize me for the year to come. 99% of my being felt like I had never actually left Peru, but 1% of me knew that the kids were all a bit taller and had started a new school year and that it was now winter.

I have been a hermit since then; let’s just say that 12 months is too short a period in which to cram 60 university credits, school visits and teaching practicums (think: stress)–if you consider having a life even a minimal priority.
My extended practicum ends on Friday; I’ll definitely be crying as I say “goodbye” to my wonderful students, although they know that I will go visit. Some students say I should work at the school (although it is impossible).

I now introduce you to Lydia Mainville. I came to know this amazing individual during my time in the New Brunswick Youth Orchestra; she was still in Grade 10, but even then, she was playing cello in her province’s symphony orchestra. She was already “going places”. Her energy, passion for life and the arts were evident. And on top of being a master cellist, she sings and takes captivating photos.

Lydia finished her Bachelor of Music last year and soon released her single, “Saltwater Daughter“, that she wrote, arranged and performed. It is a very relaxing song that transports you to another place…
http://lydiamainville.bandcamp.com/

Lydia is currently on (a mini-)tour, for more, check out: facebook.com/lydiamainvillecello
Lydia Mainville (small)Lydia M
Cheers to youthful, passionate, creativity!

I’ll try and post soon (if I ever finish grading 139 projects and their respective unit tests…).

À bientôt!

2 thoughts on “Music as stress relief: meet Lydia Mainville

    • Thanks, Greta!! I am exhausted, but getting closer to the finish line with each passing day.
      Hope you are doing well and enjoying spring! Enjoy da Rock for me 🙂

What do you think?

